Out of the mouths of babes

After learning about several ancient cultures, Micaiah asked to learn about America. So in an effort to engage his curiosity and appeal to his love of story-telling, I began with “Once upon a time…” I told him the story of America in short from explorers and pilgrims through the Revolutionary war. I didn’t give specific names or places which kept him on the edge of his seat (as opposed to the oh-no-she’s-teaching-me-something glazed over look).

Around the time the people of the “New Land” sent a “letter” to the King of the “Old Land,” something interesting happened. First, a grimace appeared on his face. And by the time shots were fired, a constant shaking of his head was added to it. It took me a moment to find a way to ask about it without laughing. “Whatchya thinking buddy?”

It might be because I’m the Mama, but the conversation that followed blew me away. At the very least I need to write it down for my own sake, so I don’t forget. It went something like this.

“Well, they shouldn’ta did that.”

“Who shouldn’t have done what?”

“They shouldn’t have fought with the guys from the Old Land.”

I proceeded to tell him more about the colonists’ reasons for their actions. He was shaking his head before I could even finish.

  
“Yeah but they shouldn’t be fighting with them. They should have just got along and made it work together with the King and the Old Land. Then there would be more stuff for everyone and help.”

Then followed further explanation of goods and taxes, representation and armed soldiers. Then I asked, “so how were they supposed to make it work together?”

He looked at me with this thoughtful look as if to say, ‘I hear you Mom’…”Yeah but (a common phrase in his vocabulary) some of the people should have gone back over to the Old Land and showed them how they were going to make it work.”

We tossed his idea around a wee bit more. But I couldn’t help but wonder, who is this kid? There are so many times when I appreciate his view on things. Sometimes it’s just a simple lack of cultural bias, like when he calls things beautiful never thinking of it as a feminine word; his big strong God is beautiful; why can’t a monster truck or other “manly” things be considered beautiful?

How often I forget the ways my experiences and surroundings have effected my thought processes! What a wonderful thing to be able to see and hear about the works of a loving God without a cloud of cultural gunk in the way!

  
I’m thankful that I have young friends (both my children and others’) to remind me what child-like faith looks like. Do you have enough young friends? I’m reminded of Jesus’ words:

And they were bringing children to him that he might touch them, and the disciples rebuked them. But when Jesus saw it, he was indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.” And he took them in his arms and blessed them, laying his hands on them. Mark 10:13-15

One last thing, the afghan (Above) Micaiah asked to have on his bed is one my grandmother and mother made together making him the fourth generation to enjoy it. He saw one at an antique show and was super excited about it. It’s perfect to have such an heirloom in our family to indulge his current curiosity about his own country! 


Leave a Reply

