On Mothering: My convictions

Disclaimer: As I share some of my parenting philosophies, please understand that I’m not determining that other methods are wrong. I simple have found this to be right for us, for now!

I have said all along that I personally think that I don’t like either end of the parenting spectrum. This is why:

I feel like Attachment Parenting lends toward a lack of healthy independence when children are ready because parents tend to go all the way. I like many things about it but I personally think people miss opportunities to move to the next step. Do you know what I mean? For example, wearing a baby is a beautiful thing and something that people have done for centuries, which matters very much to me. I think many people wear their children to often for to long and their children often miss out on developing some independence and skills. I hope I’m being clear here. I’m just not comfortable with the extent of dependence and pace of skill development in the all-in AP families I know.

On the other hand, I think that detached or cry it out or Ferber (whatever!) methods are convenient so that children fit into our busy Western lifestyle. I personally feel like it’s a little severe to expect infant to quickly adjust to life in this fast-paced culture. What it comes down to is that I feel selfish demanding a rigid schedule and such from my little one. My pastor said it wisely when he described an idol we have in our western culture. It has as face. We hang it on our wall and refer to it frequently. We completely arrange our lives around it. The clock can rule our lives and I tend to want to rebel. In fact, the only clock displayed in my house is the one on my stove. I just refuse to rush around like crazy! While I do try and teach children to respect others by being punctual etc, I feel that a lack of rigidity in our schedule has created more flexible, easy-going children: even little miss screams-a-lot.

Whew! It is so difficult to open myself up for criticism by writing all of this down. But I’m beginning to feel a certain freedom in remembering that it is the Lord and His grace that makes my house stand and the only one I need to please with my parenting!

6 thoughts on “On Mothering: My convictions

  1. I completely agree! Wow, I had never thought about the clock thing before…interesting! Our family tends to focus on time when it comes to eating, sleeping/rising, but not much else (except my husband, who has to be at work at a certain time). We homeschool and are quite relaxed and able to be more flexible than many lifestyles would allow.
    Anyway, great post!

    Like

          • We’re eclectic and use a variety of resources. :) Often times, I have used a program or textbook as a spine (so I’d know WHAT to cover) and then find ways to teach based on my preferences and my kids’ learning styles. Also, we LOVE our library!! We use many, many real books for “school.”
            I’ll be teaching my daughter high school next year! It’s been really fun to plan it. :D

            Like

Leave a Reply

