On strong-willed children and the like

Today I was writing in a journal, a luxury I rarely get. Here are some thoughts I thought I’d share concerning the temperaments of my children. People have been classifying them as of late. You know: good, bad, wild, calm, smart, trouble…those kinds of things. Needless to say, I’m not a fan.

The truth is: yes my children are different. But they were both formed by the same loving Creator with unique personalities.

They are both corrupted by the same sin-nature and they are both in need of Christ’s redemptive work on the cross.

What saddens me: Because my son demanded less of me, he received less of me. less nursing, less cuddling, less holding – he was easy. But is that really the way babies should be cared for? Just because he played so well by himself, how wish I would have just held him more.

Maybe God made him to be a more introverted soul in order to appreciate deep, meaningful relationships with others. Maybe he will be exceptional at taking the hand of those in need of fellowship or discipleship . Maybe as he grows in wisdom, what little he’ll say will lead many along on the narrow road.

Yes, my daughter pushes the boundaries. She tests the limits and explores every nook and cranny. What if one day she instead pushes the church around her to test what is truly Biblical? What if she tests the limits of what culture says she can do with the Word for instruction and faith, grace and love as her tools? What if she explores every avenue to seek out lost souls to be taken into he heart and home and thereby into His fold.

I feel that her outgoing nature is no more of a weakness than his introverted nature. She may struggle with obvious sings, while he struggles with secret sins…Of course I would hope none of this for my children and this is why I pray for God to grant me the grace to see how to disciple my children.

In a world where raising young ones is about managing behavior (appearances really), I desire that God would use me to cultivate the inward person of the heart to be something beautiful. That all of my children would walk with Him and glorify him with their lives…no matter the cost.

I have an odd sense of peace about all of this…The thought of my children suffering for Jesus’ sake raises a pain I my chest, but also a peace and joy that the Father would be their first love…

Can any of you relate? Do you understand? I want my children’s personalities to be seen as a gift from God that they can offer back to him, not a stumbling block. They will have enough of those in this life.

Leave a Reply

