Mummum Elli’s Nursing (or breakfast) Cookies (Gluten, dairy, egg and soy free)

For whatever reason, I struggle to keep my milk supply up. In my search for nursing or lactation cookies, I found myself frustrated with my options. I have Celiac disease (so grains are out the window) and my baby is sensitive to dairy and soy (bye-bye chocolate chips). The only one I found was VERY coconutty, not m fave. So, here’s my own recipe! These are much like one of my local bakeries “breakfast cookies” except they are heaped full of galactagogues. They turned out delicious. In fact, I ate quite a bit more than the recommended 1-2 per day. I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c gluten free flour of your choice
  • 1 1/2 c gluten free oats
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 T brewer’s yeast
  • 1 tsp crushed anise or fennel seed
  • 1/2 cup flax seed
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 T cocoa powder
  • 1 c raw sugar
  • 1/4 c coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 T natural peanut butter
  • 2 large eggs (or egg replacer if needed)
  • 1 1/4 c warm water

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Combine all dry ingredients and stir well
  • Add coconut oil, vanilla, peanut butter and eggs
  • Mix on med-low speed for 1-2 minutes
  • Continuing on low speed, slowly add water. Batter should be wet: not crumbly but not really gooey either
  • Line a baking sheet with tinfoil
  • Scoop one heaping tablespoon per cookie and squish down with a fork
  • Bake for 12 minutes, remove and let cool
  • Enjoy! This are a great treat or a quick breakfast, whether or not you have a milk supply to increase!
Leave a Reply

