Potty Training Slow and Steady: Update-Stage Two

If you haven’t checked out the introduction, you can do that here. Today, I’m going to update you on How Stage Two is going!

Summary Thus Far

I let my son spend much of his play time naked (at least the bottom half ) and in less than a week, he would make his way to an available potty-chair before he urinated. Seeing when he went and how it felt gave him self-awareness of what it feels like to need to void his bladder. I didn’t scold him for going on the floor (we have hard, easy to clean surfaces) or ground and only once in a while mentioned that there was a potty chair available to him if he wanted to use it – and it turns out he did!

We began Stage Two with great momentum!

Stage Two Update

I am currently on day 8 of Stage Two. As I look back on this week, I’m having a hard time simply categorizing our progress. We’ve had several great days, a couple horrible ones and a few in-between.

Days 1-3 all had about five hours straight of no accidents. Micaiah would make it to the toilet or chair every time. When asked, he always said no (he actually does this to all questions) and then reconsidered and responded appropriately. Then, for some reason for a few hours in a row, he would just wet his pants. I would guess maybe he got tired of it except that two of the days it occurred in the morning and one in the evening.

The rest of the week he has done great (one or two accidents a day) with the exception of two days later this week where he didn’t make it for several hours. One of those he was with a friend of mine while I played softball and he wouldn’t go for her. (Plus, I think the game was pretty distracting.)

So all in all, I think we’re doing well. My son is just over two (2 yrs 2 mos). I think potty training takes work no matter when you choose to do it. I personally feel like earlier is better (as long as the child is truly ready) even if it takes a little more time and patience. For me, I’ll be happy if he doesn’t have to sit in diapers for our cross-country road trip coming up.

How long did it take to toilet train your child(ren)? Are you and earlier or later type of person?

Leave a Reply

